Golfers raise more than $29,000 for Missouri 4-H

June 13, 2016

Story source: Rachel Augustine, 573-884-7641

Team 21

COLUMBIA, Mo. — Golfers hit the greens in support of Missouri 4-H youth at the seventh annual 4-H Clover Classic Golf Tournament, June 7 in Columbia. Co-presenting sponsors were The Climate Corporation, a division of Monsanto and Great American Insurance, Crop Division.

“We are so grateful for the steadfast support shown by our partners and friends for the seventh annual 4-H Clover Classic,” said Cheryl Reams, executive director of the Missouri 4-H Foundation. “Twenty teams joined us in support of the MU Extension 4-H Youth Development Program, helping us raise more than $29,000 for Missouri 4-H.”

Co-chair Bob Idel, along with Greg Sowder of Great American Insurance, Crop Division and Richard Fordyce, director of the Missouri Department of Agriculture, welcomed players, thanking everyone for their ongoing support of youth in agriculture before challenging teams to compete on behalf of Missouri 4-H youth.

Awards for the first-place Championship Flight went to the team of Ben Gallup, Trenton Monnig, Kory Neisen and Steve Ball. Awards for the second-place Championship Flight went to the team of Jon Bishop, Phil Fancher, Terry Whitney and Justin Cromley.

Awards for the first-place A Flight went to the Alpha Gamma Rho team of Michael Monson, Jacob Meyer, Garrett Buschjost and Joe Stillman. Awards for the second-place A Flight went to the team of Estil Fretwel, Tom Crawford and Jeff Harbert.

Foursomes teed off under the banner of hat sponsor Osborn Barr.

Platinum sponsors included ADM Crop Risk Services, FCS Financial, and Gordon and Kay Sparks. Premium sponsors included Farmers Mutual Hail Insurance Co. of Iowa; Lyle Houts Family; JBS Live Pork; MFA Inc.; Missouri Farm Bureau Federation; Rain and Hail, Midwest Division; George Thomas; and Marla J. Tobin, M.D.

Players enjoyed lunch provided by the Missouri Pork Producers Association and the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association. Fechtel Beverage & Sales Inc. was the beverage sponsor.

Hole and team sponsors included ADM Crop Risk Services; the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives; Jim and Kathy Berger; CF Industries; Crop Insurance-FCS Financial; Edward Jones, David A. Reid; Exchange Bank of Missouri; Heimer & Associates Inc.; Robert E. “Bud” and Betty Hertzog; Bob and Pam Idel; Joan and John Hickman; Jost Tire Co. Inc.; Carol and Kevin Langford; Brock and Nancy Lutz; Missouri Agribusiness Association; Missouri Cattlemen’s Association; Missouri Corn Growers Association; Missouri Geographic Alliance; Missouri Geography Bee; Missouri Pork Producers Association; Missouri Ruralist, Penton Agriculture; Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council; MU Extension 4-H Center for Youth Development, Ina Linville; Noah’s Ark Veterinary Service; Diane Olson; Orscheln Industries; Pioneer, Stephen G. Morfeld; Progressive Farm Credit Services; Linda J. Scorse, D.V.M.; Smithfield Hog Production; Vivayic; and Stacy, Mindy, Elisa and Cassidy Ward.

Players won cash and prizes donated by A. L. Gustin Golf Course; AgriMissouri; Andy’s Frozen Custard; Rachel Augustine; Broadway Brewery; Kelli Jo Buettner; F & H Food Equipment Co.; FCS Financial; Olive Graham; Clay and Dana Haynes; Kansas City Royals; Lakota Coffee Co.; Missouri Beef Industry Council; Missouri State Fair; Rose Music Hall; Schlafly Brewery; Kay Sparks; St. Louis Cardinals; Stoney Creek Inn; Tee’s Etc. Apparel & Design; and Chris Willow.

The Clover Classic committee was led by co-chairs Bob Idel and John Raines, and included Rachel Augustine, Kelli Jo Buettner, Cheryl Reams, Kay Sparks, George Thomas and Chris Willow.