Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame honors 46 4-H legacies

Media contact:

Kristen Heitkamp
Director of Development
Missouri 4-H Foundation
Phone: 573-882-2680
Email: heitkampk@missouri.edu

Photo available for this release:

Inductees from 35 counties joined the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame on Aug. 14.

Credit: Amanda Stapp

Published: Friday, August 19, 2011

COLUMBIA, Mo.– Making the best better for generations of Missouri 4-H’ers, 46 4-H luminaries joined the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame, Aug. 14 at the Missouri State Fair. Inductees from 35 counties established a legacy totaling 1,600 years of service to 4-H. A record crowd of 650 family members and friends attended the fifth annual event.

“This celebration acknowledges the contributions of distinguished 4-H leaders—past and present,” said Missouri 4-H Foundation Chair Ruth Tofle.

The Missouri 4-H Foundation recognizes individuals who have created a legacy of service to 4-H by honoring them with membership in the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame.

“These leaders have made exceptional contributions to the lives of Missouri 4-H members,” said Missouri 4-H Foundation Executive Director Cheryl Reams.

2011 inductees and counties

John Duncan, Andrew

Truman and the late Mary Coolley, Audrain

Linda and the late Richard Morgan, Barton

The late Jenna Lee Ficken, Benton

Marcia Martin, Boone

Phyllis Fisher, Buchanan

Alta M. O’Neal, Carroll

Linda Gordy, Clark

Myrna Riechers, Franklin

Courtney and Mariam Goforth, Gentry

The Posler Family, Harrison

Alvin Crooks, Henry

Cheryl Adams, Howard

Marge and Ivan Slaughter, Jackson

Joan Wilson, Jasper

The late Nellie Mabel Jones Turner, Johnson

Martha Hawthorne, Lafayette

Lewis & Marion County Cattlemen, Lewis

Sharon Keim, Lincoln

Inez Preston, Linn

Luzenia Arthaud, Livingston

Stephen and Brenda Coulson, Macon

The Wanda Rothweiler Family, Marion

Sherry Cox, Moniteau

Robert and Mary Beth Mitchell, Monroe

The Late Richard and June Kasak, Pettis

Fay Miller, Pike

Gene Stroker, Ralls

Ester Lee and the late Merlin Riley, Randolph

Kaye Wright, Saline

W. O. Poe, Schuyler

The late Denis “Deny” Clatt, Scotland

The Rutter Family, Shelby

The Late Ethel Rohlfing, St. Clair

Joe and Virginia Habjan, Vernon

Frank Graham, State Award

Nelson Trickey, State Award