Youth learn how to candle, grade eggs at 4-H Poultry Day

Media contact:

Linda Geist
University of Missouri Extension
Phone: 573-882-9185

Photo available for this release:

4-H members from across the state learned how to candle and grade eggs at the annual Poultry Day held recently on the campus of the University of Missouri.

Credit: Courtesy of Ben Gallup, Missouri 4-H

Published: Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Story source:

Benjamin H. Gallup, 573-882-3835

COLUMBIA, Mo.–More than 180 people attended the annual 4-H Poultry Day June 8 at the University of Missouri’s Animal Science Research Center.

4-H youth learned how to candle and grade eggs, and to identify parts of chickens and the characteristics of different breeds of chicken. Speakers included Tony Perryman, Missouri Department of Agriculture; Jesse Lyons, MU Extension poultry specialist; Ben Gallup, MU Extension 4-H specialist; and retirees of MU’s Animal Science Research Center.

Nick Mikkelsen of Webster County won first place in the champion egg contest. Ashley Webb of Pettis County took second.

Chase Bybee of Pettis County took first place in the photo contest and Mikkelsen placed second.

The winning team in the Senior Avian Bowl was Webster County’s England’s Best: Erin Ingalsbe, Steven Michael and Mikkelsen. The Cluck Dynasty team of Newton County was champion of the junior bowl. Team members were Andrew Littlefield, Steven Peters, Joshua Raben and Olivia Thompson.

Overall winners in the junior category were Mark Lawrence, Webster County, first; Kyla Whittaker, Webster County, second; Joshua Raben, Newton County, third. Others placing in the top 10 were Hannah Mashburn, Webster; Andrew Littlefield, Newton; Steven Peters, Cape Girardeau; Josie Thudium, Macon; Blake Kellum, Webster; Jacob Nagel, Warren; and Ellie Wantland, Webster.

The top three finishers in the senior category were Chania Hoffman, Audrain County, first; Bailey Kemp, Callaway County, second; and Kale Whittaker, Webster County, third. Placing in the top 10 were Emily Montgomery, Audrain; Nick Mikkelsen, Webster; Lorra Day, Webster; Bryan Jensen, Webster; Erin Ingalsbe, Webster; Steven Michael, Webster; and Kara Berrey, Carroll.

For more information, go to

Missouri 4-H is part of University of Missouri Extension.