Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inducts 54 members

Media contact:

Rachel Augustine
Missouri 4-H Foundation
Phone: 573-884-7641
Email: AugustineRE@missouri.edu

Photo available for this release:

2016 Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inductees.

Credit: Photo by Amanda Stapp

Published: Tuesday, August 16, 2016

SEDALIA, Mo. – “Making the best better” for generations of Missouri 4-H Club members, 54 volunteers joined the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame on Aug. 13 at State Fair Community College in Sedalia.

Inductees from 40 counties established a legacy totaling 1,594 years of volunteer service to Missouri 4-H, said Rachel Augustine, associate director of development for the Missouri 4-H Foundation.

More than 400 family members and friends attended the 10th annual event. Inductees were nominated by their counties for outstanding volunteer work in local 4-H programs.

“This is a celebration to acknowledge, with statewide historical documentation, the contributions of distinguished 4-H leaders—both past and present,” said State 4-H Council President Sarah Townley.

The Missouri 4-H Foundation recognizes individuals who have created a legacy of service to 4-H by honoring them with membership in the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame, Augustine said.

“These volunteers have played a vital role in helping our youth develop essential life skills that will empower them to become strong leaders in the 21st-century workforce,” she said. “We are proud to honor their legacy of service to Missouri 4-H.”

The annual event is sponsored by FCS Financial and the Missouri State Fair in partnership with the Missouri 4-H Foundation.

“Our University of Missouri Extension 4-H youth faculty and staff work in partnership with our volunteers to see they have the support needed to empower youth to succeed as future leaders,” said Ina Metzger Linville, program director, MU Extension 4-H Center for Youth Development. “Dedicated faculty and staff, committee volunteers, and spirited 4-H’ers will continue to learn and grow together to help our youth and communities thrive.”

2016 Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inductees:

  • Audrain County: Bobette and Warren Wilson
  • Barton County: Gary and Sondra Smith
  • Benton County: Jeanette Bahrenburg
  • Caldwell County: Dorothy Silvey
  • Callaway County: Herbert* and Umbra Duffy
  • Cape Girardeau County: Shirley Aufdenberg
  • Cape Girardeau County: Mary Lou Kurtz
  • Cass County: Mike and Heather Moreland
  • Clark County: Jack Fry
  • Clinton County: Ronda Groebe
  • Cooper County: Carol Norman
  • DeKalb County: Ken Keesaman
  • Franklin County: Dorothy Keence
  • Gasconade County: Jackie Gray
  • Greene County: Byron Morrison
  • Harrison County: Eleanor Thompson
  • Henry County: Bessie Thomas
  • Jackson County: Selinda Ramsey
  • Jasper County: Charles and Debbie Youngblood
  • Johnson County: Oleta Cone
  • Lafayette County: Kimberly Bell
  • Lawrence County: Loeda Chapman*
  • Lewis County: Bob Cary
  • Lincoln County Kari Shramek
  • Linn County: Ronnie and Carolee Hall
  • Livingston County: Jackie Woodworth
  • Macon County: John Farrington
  • Marion County: Sonny and Kathy Lee
  • Monroe County: Dwain and Linda Wilkerson
  • Osage County: Arlen and Kay Schwinke family
  • Osage County: Eldore and Roberta Schwinke family
  • Pettis County: Philip and Lori Gerke
  • Putnam County: Janie Durbin
  • Ralls County: Cindy Woodhurst
  • Randolph County: Sandra Leathers
  • Ray County: LeeRoy and Mary Martens
  • Saline County: Delmer Croka
  • Saline County: Laura Pummill
  • Schuyler County: Randy and Dolores Sayre
  • Scotland County: Larry Wiggins, D.V.M.
  • Shelby County: Jeanna Rutter
  • St. Clair County: Berniece Martin
  • Warren County: Betty Vahle*

*Posthumous award.

About the Missouri 4-H Foundation

For more than 65 years, the Missouri 4-H Foundation has been the resource development partner of the MU Extension 4-H Youth Development Program, providing program funds, community service grants, higher education scholarships and volunteer recognition. MU Extension 4-H is a community of nearly 270,000 youths from across Missouri learning leadership, citizenship and life skills.