Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inducts 46 members

Photo available for this release:

2017 inductees into the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame.

Credit: Photo by Amanda Stapp

Published: Thursday, August 31, 2017

Story source:

Rachel Augustine, 573-884-7641

SEDALIA, Mo. – “Making the best better” for generations of Missouri 4-H club members, 46 volunteers joined the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame on Aug. 19 at State Fair Community College in Sedalia.

Inductees from 37 counties established a legacy totaling 1,085 years of volunteer service to Missouri 4-H, said Rachel Augustine, Missouri 4-H Foundation director. More than 300 family members and friends attended the 11th annual event. Inductees were nominated by their counties for outstanding volunteer work in local 4-H programs.

“This is a celebration to acknowledge, with statewide historical documentation, the contributions of distinguished 4-H leaders, both past and present,” said State 4-H Council President Mitchell Moon.

The Missouri 4-H Foundation recognizes individuals who have created a legacy of service to 4-H by honoring them with membership in the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame, Augustine said.

“These volunteers have played a vital role in helping our youth develop essential life skills that will empower them to become strong leaders in the 21st century workforce,” she said. “We are proud to honor their legacy of service to Missouri 4-H.”

The annual event is sponsored by FCS Financial and the Missouri State Fair in partnership with the Missouri 4-H Foundation.

2017 Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inductees:

  • Louise Armstrong, Monroe County
  • Linda Bast, Crawford County
  • Steven Begley, Marion County
  • Carla Bellis, Lawrence County
  • Ann* and Bill Bohnert, Jackson County
  • Billy Claiborn, Greene County
  • Clark County Cattlemen, Clark County
  • Mary Darting, St. Charles County
  • Richard Evans, Caldwell County
  • David Feldkamp, Lewis County
  • Kay Green, Livingston County
  • Nancy Harris, Ralls County
  • Olga Haverland*, St. Clair County
  • Karen Homfeld, Lafayette County
  • Gary Hunt, Randolph County
  • Larry Jackson, Jasper County
  • Kenneth and Marjorie Jenkins, Ray County
  • William and Cindy Kautsch, Cole County
  • John* and Carolyn Koenigsfeld, Osage County
  • Connie Laney, Phelps County
  • Karen Loyd-Minear, Knox County
  • Gary McFee, DeKalb County
  • Wayne and Sally Minnick, Daviess County
  • Patricia Misuraca*, Franklin County
  • Dean and Loretta Owen, Barton County
  • Phyllis Owens, Gentry County
  • Bill and Judy Pauley, Putnam County
  • Wesley Rhodes, Linn County
  • Barbara Schneider, Warren County
  • Tricia Schniedermeyer, Lincoln County
  • Ray and Jan Schwarz, Clinton County
  • Lauretta Smith, Montgomery County
  • Gerry Snapp, Saline County
  • Trudy and Earl Twenter, Cooper County
  • Roy White, Johnson County
  • Patricia Wiggins, Scotland County
  • Melvern “Junior” Worley, Audrain County

*Posthumous award.

About Missouri 4-H

4-H, the nation’s largest youth development organization, grows confident young people who are empowered for life today and prepared for careers tomorrow. 4-H programs empower nearly 6 million young people across the U.S. through experiences that develop critical life skills.

University of Missouri Extension 4-H connects the technical knowledge of Mizzou to a community of more than 200,000 youths from across Missouri learning about the sciences, leadership, citizenship and skills for life. For more than 65 years, the Missouri 4-H Foundation has been managing funds for the MU Extension 4-H Youth Development Program, providing higher education scholarships and recognizing 4-H volunteers.